Carmichael Takes Bittersweet Win In Atlanta

Shan Moore | February 25, 2006

Ricky Carmichael passed Chad Reed at the halfway point of the 20-lap main event to win round eight of the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, held at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia. The win topped off a bittersweet weekend for the Team Makita Suzuki rider, who just two days before was given a 25 point penalty by the AMA for using fuel with a lead content that was determined to be too high. The penalty all but knocked Carmichael out of the championship chase, but the Floridian didn’t let that keep him from putting everything into Saturday night’s main event.

Team Kawasaki’s James Stewart was caught up in a first lap pile up and rounded the first lap in last place. However, the 20-year-old put on a charge through the pack and passed Carmichael’s teammate Ivan Tedesco on lap 15 for third place.

Tedesco went on to finish fourth, with Team Honda’s Ernesto Fonseca and Factory Kawasaki’s Michael Byrne rounding out the top five.

Reed now leads the points race with 171 points, followed by Stewart with 152 and Carmichael with 140.

In the Lites division, Sobe/Samsung/Mobile/Honda’s Josh Grant benefited from a red flag to get a second chance at a start and took full advantage of it by grabbing the holeshot and leading the main until lap five when Team Honda’s Davi Millsaps went by to take the lead. Grant hung tight to Millsaps and retook the lead when Millsaps spun in a turn and dropped to fourth.

From there, Grant sprinted home with the win, while Millsaps worked his way back up to second at the finish.

Star Racing’s Martin Davalos put in the ride of his life to finish third, while Red Bull KTM’s Josh Hansen DNFed after getting caught up with a fallen Steve Boniface on a BooKoo Honda. Yamaha of Troy’s Branden Jesseman finished fourth, with Star Racing’s Matt Goerke in fifth.

Millsaps continues to lead the series standings with 47 points, followed by Jesseman with 38 and Monster/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Chris Gosselaar, who finished ninth tonight, in third overall with 34 points.

SX MAIN (20 laps):

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

2. Chad Reed (Yam)

3. James Stewart (Kaw)

4. Ivan Tedesco (Suz)

5. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon)

6. Michael Byrne (Kaw)

7. Nick Wey (Hon)

8. Mike LaRocco (Hon)

9. Ryan Clark (Hon)

10. Travis Preston (Hon)

SX LITES MAIN (15 laps):

1. Josh Grant (Hon)

2. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

3. Martin Davalos (Yam)

4. Branden Jesseman (Yam)

5. Matt Goerke (Yam)

6. Michael Blose (Hon)

7. Ted Maier (Kaw)

8. Rob Kiniry (Hon)

9. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw)

10. Sean Hamblin (Suz)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.