Strijbos And Cairoli Win In Loket

| August 8, 2005

In pouring rain, Suzuki factory rider Kevin Strijbos won the Grand Prix of Czech Republic yesterday with consistent 4-1 results. Second place was Rinaldi Yamaha rider Stefan Everts who also posted 1-4 finishes, while third place went to CAS Honda rider Josh Coppins with 3-2 results. Strijbos, who has missed most of the season due to injury, returned back to the GP scene just recently but has lacked the results of the previous season. Around the Loket circuit, though, the youngster turned things around.

“I have not realized that I have won today, maybe on Monday it will sink in,” Strijbos said. “I just practiced harder after last weeks race in Nismes. It was a bad season for me until now. Last weekend was not good I had bad started, but today everything went perfect.”

Everts worked hard coming through the pack in the second race after taking an exciting win in moto one. The Belgian legend was fighting hard to make up ground after a fall and did a great job working his way inside the top five.

Third placed Coppins enjoyed his results, although was disappointed to lose more points to Everts in the championship battle.

In the MX2 class, it was De Carli Yamaha rider Antonio Cairoli who won with 1-2 results, leading home Freeman Kawasaki rider Christophe Pourcel, who scored his first ever GP moto win and finished with 5-1 results. Third place was series leader Andrew McFarlane of the Ricci Yamaha team.

Cairoli, who resigned with the De Carli Yamaha team and will remain in Europe in 2006 and 2007, was more than happy with his win, as it closed the series points to just one with four rounds remaining.

Pourcel finished a brilliant second and took his first ever Grand Prix race win after a battle with Cairoli. McFarlane was happy with his third position overall despite suffering a painful toe injury.

MX2 MOTO 1: 1. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 2. Marc De Reuver (KTM); 3. Carl Nunn (KTM); 4. Andrew McFarlane (Yam); 5. Christophe Pourel (Kaw); 6. Cedric Melotte (Yam); 7. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw); 8. Billy Mackenzie (Yam); 9. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 10. Nicolas Aubin (Yam); 11. Stephen Sword (Kaw); 12. Davide Guarneri (Yam); 13. Rui Goncalves (Yam); 14. David Philippaerts (KTM); 15. Patrick Caps (Hon)

MX2 MOTO 2: 1. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 2. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 3. David Philippaerts (KTM); 4. Andrew McFarlane (Yam); 5. Cedric Melotte (Yam); 6. Billy Mackenzie (Yam); 7. Carl Nunn (KTM); 8. Stephen Sword (Kaw); 9. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 10. Aigar Leok (KTM); 11. Anthony Boissiere (Yam); 12. Rui Goncalves (Yam); 13. Marc De Reuver (KTM); 14. Davide Guarneri (Yam); 15. Patrick Caps (Hon).

MX2 CHAMPIONSHIP POINT STANDINGS: 1. Andrew McFarlane (452/2wins); 2. Antonio Cairoli (451/5); 3. Alessio Chiodi (402/1); 4. David Philippaerts (368/2); 5. Cedric Melotte (352); 6. Stephen Sword (285); 7. Christophe Pourcel (270); 8. Billy Mackenzie (251/1); 9. Carl Nunn (251); 10. Rui Goncalves (231); 11. Davide Guarneri (230); 12. Mickael Maschio (222); 13. Anthony Boissiere (197); 14. Patrick Caps (191); 15. Matteo Bonini (146)

MX1 MOTO 1: 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. Mickael Pichon (Hon); 3. Josh Coppins (Hon); 4. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 5. Ben Townley (KTM); 6. Ken De Dijcker (Hon); 7. Pascal Leuret (Hon); 8. Tanel Leok (Kaw); 9. Brian Jorgensen (Yam); 10. Mark Hucklebridge (Hon); 11. Danny Theybers (Suz); 12. Luigi Seguy (Yam); 13. Joel Smets (Suz); 14. Paul Cooper (Hon); 15. Anthony Meo (Husky)

MX1 MOTO 2: 1. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 2. Josh Coppins (Hon); 3. Ben Townley (KTM); 4. Stefan Everts (Yam ); 5. Ken De Dijcker (Hon); 6. Luigi Seguy (Yam); 7. Tanel Leok (Kaw); 8. Mark Hucklebridge (Hon); 9. James Nobles (Hon); 10. Danny Theybers (Suz); 11. Pascal Leuret (Hon); 12. Yoshi Atsuta (Suz); 13. Manuel Priem (Yam); 14. Alex Salvini (Suz); 15. Brian Jorgensen (Yam)

MX1 CHAMPIONSHIP POINT STANDINGS: 1. Stefan Everts (539/5wins); 2. Josh Coppins (500/2); 3. Ben Townley (426/3); 4. Joel Smets (385); 5. Mickael Pichon (368/3); 6. Steve Ramon (342); 7. Pascal Leuret (267); 8. Ken De Dijcker (245); 9. James Nobles (230); 10. Brian Jorgensen (224); 11. Danny Theybers (223); 12. Tanel Leok (219); 13. Jonathan Barragan (203); 14. Yoshi Atsuta (184); 15. Antti Pyrhonen (156)

By Freelance