Springer to the Hall

Cycle News Staff | August 19, 2005
[ARTICLE CONTENT] Three-time AMA Grand National Champion Jay Springsteen was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, Thursday night in Detroit, Michigan.

The legendary and enduring dirt tracker was ushered into the Class of 2005 along with fellow motorsports greats Benny Parson, Tom Sneva, and Hurley Haywood, among others.

The Class of 2005 will join the 146 racers already enshrined in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. Among the previous inductees from the the two-wheel world are the late Don Vesco, Gary Nixon, Eddie Lawson, Freddie Spencer, Bob Hannah, Bart Markel, Kenny Roberts, and many others.

A press release from the hall said, “Jay Springsteen began his motorcycle racing career in 1975 and remains competitive today. He was the AMA Grand National rookie of the year in 1975 and the youngest AMA Grand National champion in 1976 at age 19. He won additional AMA titles in 1977 and 1978, and has won a total of 43 AMA Grand National events throughout his career.”

Running a limited schedule this year, Springer’s best finish is a third at the Syracuse Mile.