Pichon Returns In Big Way

| August 1, 2005

Martin Honda rider Mickael Pichon returned to action and turned in 1-2 results at the Grand Prix of Wallonie in Belgium yesterday. Pichon looked brilliant in the opening moto with a victory. In the second race, he gated well but was quickly passed by Rinaldi Yamaha rider Stefan Everts.

Once in the lead, Everts rode well to take third place overall with 5-1 scores. Second overall was CAS Honda rider Josh Coppins with 2-3 results.

“I am happy, I want to thank the guys on the team, even if things are not going well at the moment,” Pichon said. “They have made some improvement on the bike and I had two good starts.”

Coppins showed great speed all weekend, coming came back from last in the second moto to finish a close third behind race winner Everts and Pichon.

Everts enjoyed his first moto win in nearly two months. With his speed apparently back, Everts is now looking at improving his championship position in the next round in Loket, Czech Republic.

In the MX2 class, it was Yamaha-mounted Antonio Cairoli, who took the win with 1-1 results. Second was Ricci Yamaha rider Andrew McFarlane with 3-4, while Rinaldi Yamaha rider Cedric Melotte finished in third with 6-2 results. Cairoli felt comfortable with his victory and is now just 12 points behind McFarlane in the series points.

McFarlane was consistent, but he will now go to Loket next weekend with the goal of leading home his fellow Yamaha rider. He also had a battle royal with his teammate Alessio Chiodi.

Third place was Cedric Melotte who again showed improvement after all his problems of the past. Injuries have hampered his season and he was happy to make the podium in his home GP.

MOTO 1 MX1: 1. Mickael Pichon (Hon); 2. Josh Coppins (Hon); 3. Pascal Leuret (Hon); 4. Brian Jorgensen (Yam); 5. Stefan Everts (Yam); 6. Steve Ramon (KTM); 7. Ben Townley (KTM); 8. Joel Smets (Suz); 9. Ken De Dijcker (Hon); 10. Manuel Priem (Yam); 11. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 12. Danny Theybers (Suz); 13. Tanel Leok (Kaw); 14. Luigi Seguy (Yam); 15. Marvin Van Daele (Hon)

MOTO 2 MX1: 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. Mickael Pichon (Hon); 3. Josh Coppins (Hon); 4. Ken De Dijcker (Hon); 5. Manuel Priem (Yam); 6. Joel Smets (Suz); 7. Yoshi Atsuta (Suz); 8. Steve Ramon (KTM); 9. Pascal Leuret (Hon); 10. Danny Theybers (Suz); 11. Lauris Freibergs (Suz); 12. Tanel Leok (Kaw); 13. Ben Townley (KTM); 14. Luigi Seguy (Yam); 15. Kevin Strijbos (Suz)

MX1 POINTS: 1. Stefan Everts (496/5wins); 2. Josh Coppins (458/2); 3. Ben Townley (390/3); 4. Joel Smets (377); 5. Mickael Pichon (346/2); 6. Steve Ramon (332); 7. Pascal Leuret (243); 8. James Noble (218); 9. Ken De Dijcker (214); 10. Brian Jorgensen (206); 11. Danny Theybers (202); 12. Jonathan Barragan (200); 13. Tanel Leok (192); 14. Yoshi Atsuta (171); 15. Antti Pyrhonen (156)

MOTO1 MX2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 2. David Philippaerts (KTM); 3. Andrew McFarlane (Yam); 4. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 5. Davide Guarneri (Yam); 6. Cedric Melotte (Yam); 7. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 8. Max Nagl (KTM); 9. Aigar Leok (KTM); 10. Anthony Boissiere (Yam); 11. Patrick Caps (Hon); 12. Mickael Maschio (Yam); 13. Nicolas Aubin (Yam); 14. Rui Goncalves (Yam); 15. Matti Seistola (Hon)

MOTO 2 MX2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 2. Cedric Melotte (Yam); 3. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 4. Andrew McFarlane (Yam); 5. Patrick Caps (Hon); 6. Mickael Maschio (Yam); 7. David Philippaerts (KTM); 8. Aigar Leok (KTM); 9. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 10. Anthony Boissiere (Yam); 11. Nicolas Aubin (Yam); 12. Pierre Renet (Yam); 13. Davide Guarneri (Yam); 14. Jason Dougan (Suz); 15. Matteo Bonini (Hon)

MX2 POINTS: 1. Andrew McFarlane (416/4wins); 2. Antonio Cairoli (404/3); 3. Alessio Chiodi (378/1); 4. David Philippaerts (341/2); 5. Cedric Melotte (321); 6. Stephen Sword (262); 7. Christophe Pourcel (229); 8. Billy Mackenzie (228/1); 9. Mickael Maschio (222); 10. Carl Nunn (217); 11. Davide Guarneri (214); 12. Rui Goncalves (214); 13. Anthony Boissiere (187); 14. Patrick Caps (179); 15. Max Nagl (142)

By Freelance