A Repeat Performance At Washougal

| July 31, 2005

Round eight of the AMA National Motocross Series in Washougal, Washington was all about Team Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael.

The Floridian simple ran away with both motos today on the way to his eighth straight win of the 2005 season and an aw-inspiring 23rd consecutive overall victory. The last time he lost an overall was at Washougal in 2003. The win was also Carmichael’s fourth 250 National victory at the venue, and pads his already enormous points lead. He now leads Team Amsoil/Chaparral/Honda’s Kevin Windham by 83 points, 394-311.

The start of the first moto saw Carmichael take the holeshot followed by Team Honda’s Ernesto Fonseca, and young Motoworldracing.com/Suzuki rider Matt Goerke. Windham was buried back in 11th. By the third lap Windham moved into third behind Fonseca, while Team Yamaha’s David Vuillemin sat in fourth. One lap later Windham was into second, however, it was too late. Carmichael already had a 15-second lead and was not showing any indication of slowing down. Meanwhile, Vuillemin took over third pushing Fonseca back to fourth. After that the running order did not change. Carmichael took the win followed by Windham in second and Vuillemin in third. Fonseca finished fourth.

The start of the second moto did not go as well as the first for Carmichael. He rounded the first turn in fourth while Fonseca took the holeshot. Windham got an excellent start and was right on Fonseca’s rear wheel. By the second lap Carmichael moved into first, and nearly did so in one turn.

Windham tried to make a move on Fonseca for first but lost his drive. As he did, Carmichael shot past both riders and into the lead. After that Carmichael once again checked out. Windham soon took over second, but could not match Carmichael’s pace. The finishing order went: Carmichael, Windham and Fonseca. As for the overall Carmichael took the win, Windham finished second and Fonseca, with the first 250 National podium of his career, completed the podium.

In the 125 class Team Monster/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ivan Tedesco garnered the second National win of his career, and also added to his growing points lead. He now holds a 41-point lead over Jim’s Motorcycle Sales/Honda rider Mike Brown, 302-261.

The opening 125 moto saw Team Honda’s Andrew Short take the holeshot followed by Yamaha of Troy’s Kelly Smith and Amsoil/Chaparral/Honda’s Josh Grant. By the end of the first lap Tedesco moved into third and set his sights on the frontrunners. On the next lap the New Mexico native passed Grant and a few laps later, was knocking on Short’s door. Tedesco made his move to first in the notorious Washougal whoops and never looked back. With each passing lap he opened up his lead. Short remained in second, but Grant was passed in the later stages of the race by Tedesco’s teammate Grant Langston. At the finish Tedesco took the win followed by Short and Langston.

The second moto start was nearly identical to the first with Short taking the holeshot followed by Yamaha of Troy’s Brett Metcalfe and Grant. Tedesco was in fourth. Slowly Short opened up his lead, but towards the halfway point was pressured by Makita Suzuki’s Broc Hepler. Hepler attempted to pass Short but could not. Then the young Suzuki rider fell over and allowed Short some breathing room. It did not last. Hepler soon caught back up to Short and passed him in the back section of the course. From there Hepler pulled away. Short remained in second while Tedesco rode around in third – unable to catch Short. In the overall results Tedesco took the win with Short in second and Hepler third.


125 OVERALL: 1. Ivan Tedseco (Kaw); 2. Andrew Short (Hon); 3. Broc Hepler (Suz); 4. Davi Millsaps (Suz); 5. Josh Grant (Hon); 6. Paul Carpenter (Kaw); 7. Grant Langston (Kaw); 8. Bobby Kiniry (Hon); 9. Jason Lawrence (Suz); 10. Danny Smith (Yam); 11. Brett Metcalfe (Yam); 12. Matt Walker (Kaw); 13. Ryan Sipes (Suz); 14. Mike Alessi (KTM); 15. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hon); 16. Kelly Smith (Yam); 17. Mike Brown (Hon); 18. Richie Owens (Suz); 19. Billy Laninovich (Hon); 20 Jeff Alessi (KTM).

250 OVERALL: 1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz); 2. Kevin Windham (Hon); 3. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon); 4. David Vuillemin (Yam); 5. John Dowd (Suz); 6. Michael Byrne (Kaw); 7. Travis Preston (Hon); 8. Nick Wey (Hon); 9. Ryan Clark (Hon); 10. Matt Goerke (Suz); 11. Timmy Weigand (Hon); 12. Sean Collier (Hon); 13. Clark Stiles (Suz); 14. Ryan Abrigo (Hon); 15. Brian Gray (Hon); 16. Jason Thomas (Hon); 17. Kyle Lewis (Hon); 18. Jeff Gibson (Hon); 19. Kenjiro Tsuji (Yam); 20. Shinichi Kaga (Yam).

By Brendan Lutes