Carr’s Supreme at Syracuse Mile

| June 19, 2005
Ford Quality Checked Pre-owned Racing’s Chris Carr scored a belated victory at the Aaron Creamer Memorial Mile on the New York State Fairgrounds in Syracuse, New York, today, the race being held after heavy rain forced it to be pushed back to Father’s Day from its originally scheduled Saturday night timeslot.

It was apparently worth the wait, as Carr bested a six-rider lead draft and barely held off Screamin’ Eagle Harley-Davidson’s Rich King and Bartels’ Harley-Davidson’s Jay Springsteen at the finish line. Both Carr and King thought that they had won, and it took a review of the finish line camera before AMA officials declared Carr the winner. King was second, and Springsteen was third.

Lancaster Harley-Davidson/Saddlemen Racing’s Jared Mees finished fourth – after leading the field at one point in the race – the young Pennsylvanian earning his best career finish on a mile. Team Suzuki Flat Track/Parts Unlimited’s Jake Johnson finished fifth, giving the factory-backed Suzuki DL1000 its best finish yet on a mile.

Here are the complete main event results from today’s Aaron Creamer Memorial Mile:

New York State Fairgrounds
Syracuse, New York
Results: June 19, 2005 (Round 5 of 17)
GRAND NATIONAL (25-laps; 18 riders): 1. Chris Carr (H-D); 2. Rich Kign (H-D); 3. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 4. Jared Mees (H-D); 5. Jake Johnson (Suz); 6. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 7. Nick Cummings (H-D); 8. Willie McCoy (H-D); 9. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 10. Joe Kopp (H-D); 11. Shaun Russell (H-D); 12. Bryan Bigelow (H-D); 13. Bryan Smith (H-D); 14. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 15. JR Schnabel (H-D); 16. Larry Pegram (Apr); 17. John Raun Wood (H-D); 18. Kevin Varnes (Suz).

AMA FORD QUALITY CHECKED FLAT TRACK SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 5 of 17 rounds): 1. Chris Carr (90/2 wins); 2. Kenny Coolbeth (66); 3. Jake Johnson (63/1 win); 4. Joe Kopp (62); 5. Shaun Russell (50); 6. (TIE) Rich King (Rich King (48/1 win)/Nick Cummings (48)/Jared Mees (48); 9. Kevin Varnes (47); 10. JR Schnabel (44/1 win); 11. Bryan Smith (43); 12. Johnny Murphree (42); 13. Bryan Bigelow (37); 14. Henry Wiles (35); 15. Willie McCoy (32); 16. Jay Springsteen (28); 17. John Raun Wood (24); 18. (TIE) Chris Hart (12)/Geo Roeder (12); 20. Larry Pegram (8).

Round 6: Lima, Ohio, June 25
Round 7: Lake Odessa, Michigan, July 2

By Scott Rousseau