Finland Wins ISDE

| September 18, 2004

The 79th International Six Days Enduro came to an ugly close on day six following the race organiser’s failure to water the track used for the final day’s motocross races. As a direct result of the dusty conditions the majority of riders agreed not to race on the grounds of safety and because of that only the Enduro 1 class race took place. Making matters worse Spain’s Junior Trophy team got themselves disqualified from the competition after a Spanish supporter and riders took matters into their own hands and assaulted a rider that wanted to compete alone in one of the final motocross races.

As a result Finland claimed a double Trophy and Junior Trophy team win, their first double win since ’96 in Finland. Finishing behind Finland were Italy and France. In the Junior Trophy team competition home nation Poland finished as runners up behind Finland, with Australia claiming third. The UFO Corse Yamaha team of Stefan Merriman, Bartosz Oblucki and Mario Rinaldi topped the Manufacturers team category beating fellow Italian team, Farioli KTM (Helder Rodrigues, David Knight and Ivan Cervantes). Finishing third was the CH Racing Husqvarna squad of Anders Eriksson, Mika Ahola and Roberto Bazzurri.

With the final motocross results from the Enduro 1 class standing, UFO Corse Yamaha rider Bartosz Oblucki (Right) was crowned E1 class champion having finished over one-minute ahead of fellow Yamaha rider Marc Germain. Claiming third was Farioli KTM rider Alex Belometti who was placed ahead of Michal Szuster in his first ever ISDE.

Making it a double class win for the UFO Corse Yamaha team, Australian Stefan Merriman (Left) placed almost five minutes clear of his closest rival, Finn Petri Pohjamo. With US rider Kurt Caselli claiming an impressive third in class, Finn Valtteri Salonen placed fourth with Seb Guillaume fifth.

Despite not actually getting to compete in the final motocross race, like all other Enduro 2 and Enduro 3 riders, Finn Samuli Aro topped the E3 class finishing just under 30 seconds ahead of British Trophy team rider David Knight. Ivan Cervantes placed third, finishing ahead of Finns Mika Ahola and Marko Tarkkala.

By Jonty Edmunds