Reed Wins Again, Tedesco Crowned

Paul Carruthers | April 18, 2004

Yamaha’s Chad Reed won his 10th THQ AMA Supercross Series race at Texas Stadium last night while Kawasaki’s Ivan Tedesco clinched the 125cc THQ AMA Western Regional Supercross Series championship.

In the 250cc class, Kevin Windham got the holeshot in front of Reed and Honda’s Mike LaRocco. Reed passed Windham on lap three and held on for his 10th win of the season. On lap four, Yamaha’s David Vuillemin passed LaRocco, but was re-passed by LaRocco late in the race. Windham was second and LaRocco was third.

“The lappers were tough tonight,” said Reed in a release from Clear Channel. “It takes 20 solid laps to win these races, and that is what I did tonight. I raced hard every lap and came away with another win. This has been a great season for me.”

Honda’s Nathan Ramsey won the $1,000 Butterfinger Holeshot Award in the 125cc class with Tedesco in second through turn one. On lap two, Tedesco and Ramsey swapped positions three times before Tedesco pulled away with the lead. On the next lap, Tedesco’s teammate Stephane Roncada traded places with Ramsey, allowing Tedesco to extend his lead. The win marked Tedesco’s sixth win of the season. Ramsey finished second and Honda’s Greg Schnell finished third.

“This season I worked hard on winning races and not the championship,” said Tedesco. “I have been waiting my whole life for this championship, and it feels so great to finally accomplish this goal.”

THQ AMA Supercross Series 125cc Western Regional

1. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki

2. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda

3. Greg Schnell, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., Honda

4. Jay Marmont, Temecula, Calif., KTM

5. Michael Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Yamaha

6. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Yamaha

7. Joshua Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Yamaha

8. Rodrig Thain, Temecula, Calif., Suzuki

9. Joshua Summey, Stanley, N.C., Yamaha

10. Darcy Lange, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki

THQ World Supercross Series/THQ AMA Supercross Series

1. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha

2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda

3. Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda

4. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

5. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha

6. Ezra Lusk, Bainbridge, Ga., Yamaha

7. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki

8. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki

9. Isaiah Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha

10. Tyler Evans, Canyon Lake, Calif., Suzuki

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.