Reed Rocks Angels Stadium

| January 18, 2004

Team Yamaha’s Chad Reed came out on top of a three-rider duel that lasted until the halfway point of the race in order to take his second race win of the year – both of which have now come at Angels Stadium of Anaheim. Last week’s winner Kevin Windham got out front quickly, with Reed’s teammate David Vuillemin in tow. Reed worked his way up from the tail end of the top five to move into third by the end of the second go-around.

That’s when things heated up. You could’ve thrown a blanket over the three of them as they sped away from the pack, swapping positions amongst each other. Windham somehow held onto the lead while the Yamahas dueled behind him – that is until just before the halfway point, when Windham was unable to jump a triple immediately after a whoop section and Reed made it by for the lead. Reed led the remainder of the race, eventually winning by over seven seconds, while Windham cruised home in second, Vuillemin in third, and Mike LaRocco came from way behind to steal fourth from Ernesto Fonseca late in the main.

The Anaheim 125cc main ended the lap-leading streak of the Pro Circuit Kawasaki KX250Fs, as Travis Preston got the holeshot and led the first 11 laps, but Ivan Tedesco and Stephane Roncada both made their way to the front to challenge the 2002 champ. Both of them went by Preston, but the Honda pilot fought his way back by Roncada to finish second, just a couple of seconds behind Tedesco. Roncada held on for third, well ahead of Nathan Ramsey, who fell early in the main, and Andrew Short, who once again spent most of his main coming through the pack, much in the style of Mike LaRocco.

125cc Main: 1. Ivan Tedesco (Kaw); 2. Travis Preston (Hon); 3. Stephane Roncada (Kaw); 4. Nathan Ramsey (Hon); 5. Andrew Short (Suz); 6. Troy Adams (Kaw); 7. Ryan Morais (KTM); 8. Brock Sellards (Yam); 9. Greg Schnell (Hon); 10. Josh Summey (Yam); 11. Cole Siebler (Yam); 12. Brian Gray (Suz); 13. Eric Nye (Yam); 14. Akira Narita (Hon); 15. Stephan Demartis (Suz); 16. Michael Sleeter (Yam); 17. Justin Buckelew (Hon); 18. Jeff Gibson (Yam); 19. Josh Hansen (Yam); 20. Bryan Johnson (Yam); 21. Michael Blose (Yam); 22. Johnny Marley (Hon).

AMA 125cc Western Regional Supercross Series Points Standings (After 3 of 8 rounds): 1. Ivan Tedesco (75/1 win); 2. Stephane Roncada (62); 3. Travis Preston (55); 4. Andrew Short (52); 5. Nathan Ramsey (50); 6. Brock Sellards (43); 7. Greg Schnell (38); 8. Troy Adams (32); 9. (TIE) Chris Gosselaar/Josh Summey (26); 11. Josh Hansen (25); 12. Cole Siebler (24); 13. Jeff Gibson (20); 14. Brian Gray (19); 15. Johnny Marley (18).

250cc Main: 1. Chad Reed (Yam); 2. Kevin Windham (Hon); 3. David Vuillemin (Yam); 4. Mike LaRocco (Hon); 5. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon); 6. Nick Wey (Suz); 7. Damon Huffman (Hon); 8. Michael Byrne (Kaw); 9. Grant Langston (KTM); 10. Robbie Reynard (Hon); 11. Ryan Clark (Yam); 12. Keith R. Johnson (Yam); 13. Heath Voss (Yam); 14. Erick Vallejo (Yam); 15. Daryl Hurley (Suz); 16. Tyler Evans (Suz); 17. Craig Anderson (Hon); 18. Isaiah Johnson (Yam); 19. Mike Brown (Yam); 20. Ezra Lusk (Yam).

AMA 250cc Supercross Points Standings (After 3 of 16 rounds): 1. Chad Reed (72/2 wins); 2. (TIE) David Vuillemin/Mike LaRocco (56); 4. Kevin Windham (49/1 win)*; 5. Michael Byrne (40); 6. Damon Huffman (38); 7. (TIE) Timmy Ferry/Nick Wey (36); 9. (TIE) Ezra Lusk/Tyler Evans (32); 11. Ernesto Fonseca (28); 12. Heath Voss (25); 13. Sean Hamblin (23); 14. (TIE) Grant Langston/Keith R. Johnson (22).

*Pending appeal

By Freelance