Lafferty Clinches Sixth National Enduro Title

Kit Palmer | September 2, 2003

Mike Lafferty clinched his sixth AMA National Championship Enduro title at the second-to-last round of the series in Clinton, South Carolina, August 31. The KTM rider didn’t get the win, instead finished third, but he did tie Randy Hawkins for third on the all-time championship victory list behind Bill Baird with seven titles and Dick Burleson with eight.

Yamaha-mounted Jason Raines nabbed the win on the day, with five points. Yamaha rider Barry Hawk and Lafferty both dropped eight points, with second going to Hawk and third to Lafferty. Yamaha’s Robbie Jenks and Randy Hawkins both dropped 12 points to finish fourth and fifth overall, respectively.

Jason Chancey (KTM), David Lykke (Yam), Steven Edmondson (KTM), Allen Gravitt (KTM) and Tommey Veator (KTM) rounded out the top 10 overall.

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.