Haubstadt Short Track to Carr

| June 23, 2003
Chris Carr landed his third win of the season under clear skies and in front of grandstands filled to near capacity at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Indiana, on June 21. The event marked the first time in over 30 years that warriors of the AMA’s Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Championships series had been to the high-banked quarter mile oval.

The first half of the 18 race series has been dominated by short track races, and the four-time and defending AMA Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Champion, has taken full advantage of it. He earned his third short track win of the year at Haubstadt and became the all-time AMA short track National winner, with six wins, placing him ahead of former Grand National champions Kenny Roberts and Steve Eklund, who are tied with five wins each. It was also the Quality Checked Certified Pre-owned Ford/Lancaster Harley-Davidson backed Carr’s 60th National win.

Carr was the man to beat all night. After setting fast heat time, the four time Grand National Champion stalked rookie Expert Jared Mees for the first four laps in the main event before making a pass and setting sail. Kenny Coolbeth put his KTM/Jones Powersports entry into second, and Coziahr Harley-Davidson/White Brothers’ Johnny Murphree was third.

Here are the results and points from the Haubstadt Short Track:

Tri-State Speedway
Haubstadt, Indiana
Results: June 21, 2003 (Round 7 of 18)
GRAND NATIONAL (25 laps; 16 riders): 1. Chris Carr (Rot); 2. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (KTM); 3. Johnny Murphree (ATK); 4. Jared Mees (Rot); 5. Mike Hacker (Rot); 6. Kevin Atherton (Yam); 7. Terry Poovey (Rot); 8. Jay Springsteen (Rot); 9. J.R. Schnabel (Yam); 10. Bryan Bigelow (Rot); 11. Raun Wood (Rot); 12. Willie McCoy (ATK); 13. Rob Pearson (Hon); 14. Jason Tyer (ATK); 15. Sam Lowe (Hon); 16. Joe Kopp (KTM).
Time: 6 min., 57.503 sec.
AMA/PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE U.S. FLAT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 7 of 18 rounds): 1. Chris Carr (134/3 wins); 2. Johnny Murphree (108); 3. Joe Kopp (98/1 win); 4. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (84); 5. Rich King (69/1 win); 6. Jake Johnson (60); 7. Bryan Bigelow (51); 8. Kevin Atherton (50); 9. Jay Springsteen (49); 10. Shaun Russell (46); 11. Brett Landes (43/1 win); 12. (TIE) J.R. Schnabel/Terry Poovey (34); 14. (TIE) Willie McCoy/Mike Hacker (31); 16. Raun Wood (29); 17. (TIE) Paul Lynch (23)/Garth Bastian (23/1 win); 19. Ken Yoder (20); 20. A.J. Eslick (19).

By Dave Hoenig