Everts Wins Grand Prix of Bulgaria

Cycle News Staff | June 8, 2003

L&M Yamaha’s Stefan Everts won the Grand Prix of Bulgaria today in Sevlievo, topping KTM’s Joel Smets by almost eight seconds to win his second race in succession.

Third place went to Honda-mounted Brian Jorgensen with World Champion Mickael Pichon fourth, well clear of Kawasaki’s Andrew McFarlane.

Everts, however, did not pull off the double as he did in the last round. This time the 125cc win went to Kawasaki’s Mickael Maschio. Andrea Bartoloni rode his Yamaha to second ahead of Marc De Reuver and Everts was fourth.

GP Moto

1. Stefan Everts (Yamaha)

2. Joel Smets (KTM)

3. Brian Jorgensen (Honda)

4. Mickael Pichon (Suzuki)

5. Andrew McFarlane (Kawasaki)

6. Claudio Frederici (Yamaha)

7. Marnicq Bervoets (Yamaha)

8. Patrick Caps (KTM)

9. Kenneth Gundersen (Kawasaki

10. Yoshitaka Atsuta (Honda)