Dakar Rally: Stage 11

Paul Carruthers | January 12, 2003

After 11 stages of the Dakar Rally, Richard Sainct continues to lead the overall standings over Cyril Despres. That lead now stands at 12 minutes and 47 seconds.

Third place overall is held by today’s stage winner, Fabrizio Meoni. Meoni won today on the run from Sarir to Siwa, topping Sainct by nine minutes and 33 seconds. Despres was third.

All three ride KTMs.

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.