Preston Wins Bercy

| November 9, 2002

American Travis Preston continued the great showing by Amsoil/Dr. Martens Honda riders by taking victory in night two of the 20th Bercy Supercross on Saturday in Paris, France.

Following on-form teammate Chris Gosselaar’s win on the opening night, Preston looked brilliant on the second evening of the most prestigious Supercross in Europe. The West Coast 125cc Supercross Champion led home KTM factory rider Grant Langston and young Yamaha of Troy rider Josh Hansen.

The final was stopped twice, the first occasion after a first-turn crash left many riders stuck, then again when a rider crashed on the finish line jump – causing the race to be red flagged. For team USA the win by Preston and consistent results from his teammates put the Americans in a very strong position to win the team’s section of the event, with six Americans finishing inside the top 10. For Preston it was about taking his time and working on his technique on the super quick Bercy circuit.

“It’s quick out there for sure,” Preston said. “I’m always a slow starter and was looking at improving over the weekend. I really hooked up in the whoops and could make some great time there.”

The second night of action in the Parisian event turned out to be a huge success with heat wins going to Eric Sorby of France, Ivan Tedesco of America and South African Grant Langston. In the two semi-final races, it was Stephane Demartis and Steve Boniface who won. In the Final it was Aussie Craig Anderson who led the first lap, followed by Hansen, Preston, World 125cc Motocross Champion Mickael Maschio, and Joachim Rodrigues. By lap seven, Preston had moved into the lead as Anderson dropped back to 10th place. Langston had worked his way into second place, although coming back from seventh on the first lap cost the former World 125cc Motocross Champion.

Results day two 20th Bercy Supercross 2002:

1. Travis Preston (Hon); 2. Grant Langston (KTM); 3. Josh Hansen (Yam); 4. Ivan Tedesco (Yam); 5. Rodrig Thain (Husky); 6. Billy Lanilovich (KTM); 7. Edgar Torronterras (Yam); 8. Brock Sellards (Yam); 9. Chris Gosselaar (Hon); 10. Joachim Rodrigues (KTM); 11. Steve Boniface (KTM); 12. Craig Anderson (Yam); 13. Eric Sorby (Kaw); 14. Stephane Demartis (Yam); 15. David Pingree (Suz).

By Freelance