King Wins Hagerstown Half Mile

| August 11, 2002
Team Harley-Davidson’s Rich King became the 10th different winner in 12 rounds when he landed the win at the Hub City Classic half mile at Hagerstown Speedway in Hagerstown, Maryland, last night.

The 38-year-old King took the lead away from spring Hagerstown winner Johnny Murphree with seven laps to go in the 25-lap National to bag the win, but only after young chargers Jake Johnson and Kenny Coolbeth both dropped out with mechanical troubles while leading the race. Johnson led the first eight laps over Coolbeth when his Harley-Davidson went sour. Coolbeth then appeared set to run away to his first career Grand National, only to have to pull off three laps later.

That put the Coziahr Harley-Davidson/Country Motors-backed Murphree up front, but King was able to make the pass and hold him off to the checkered flag. Defending AMA/Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Champion and current series points leader was once again able to minimize Murphree’s points gain by finishing third aboard his Quality Checked Certified Pre-owned Ford/David Liles Fuels entry.

It should also be noted that Gardner Racing/Lancaster Harley-Davidson’s Bryan Bigelow finished fourth in the main event. This is significant because the points chase is starting to shape up as a three-horse race among Carr, Murphree and Bigelow. They have been the most consistent finishers this season. Carr is barely holding on to a double digit points lead over Murphree, 171-155, with Bigelow third at 153. Kevin Varnes fourth at 149, and must be considered as a darkhorse pick for the title if he can continue his run of late.

In the Harley-Davidson Sportster Performance National, Moroney’s Harley-Davidson’s Jared Mees continued his run toward his first professional National title by earning his fourth win of the year.

Hagerstown Speedway
Hagerstown, Maryland
Results: August 10, 2002 (Round 12 of 20)
GRAND NATIONAL (25 laps; 18 riders): 1. Rich King (H-D); 2. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 3. Chris Carr (H-D); 4. Bryan Bigelow (H-D); 5. Kevin Atherton (H-D); 6. Terry Poovey (H-D); 7. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 8. Kevin Varnes (H-D); 9. Paul Lynch (H-D); 10. Shawn Clark (H-D); 11. Willie McCoy (H-D); 12. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 13. Chris Hart (H-D); 14. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 15. Steve Beattie (H-D); 16. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 17. Jake Johnson (H-D); 18. Aaron Creamer (H-D).
Time: 9 min., 52.906 sec.
AMA/PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE U.S. FLAT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIPS SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 12 of 20 rounds): 1. Chris Carr (171/2 wins); 2. Johnny Murphree (155/1 win); 3. Bryan Bigelow (153/1 win); 4. Kevin Varnes (149/1); 5. Ken Coolbeth Jr. (129); 6. Jay Springsteen (110); 7. Joe Kopp (95); 8. Geo Roeder II (86); 9. (TIE) Terry Poovey/Kevin Atherton (79); 11. J.R. Schnabel (76); 12. Shaun Russell (72); 13. Jake Johnson (71); 14. Chris Hart (69/1 win); 15. Nicky Hayden (61/2 wins); 16. Rich King (60/1 win); 17. Paul Lynch (58); 18. Shawn Clark (55); 19. Willie McCoy (50); 20. Steve Beattie (36).

HARLEY-DAVIDSON SPORTSTER PERFORMANCE NATIONAL(12 laps; 17 riders): 1. Jared Mees; 2. A.J. Eslick; 3. Rusty Rogers; 4. Jess Roeder; 5. James Hart; 6. Robert Lewis; 7. Scott Scherb; 8. Merle Scherb; 9. Cory McDermitt; 10. John Faulkner III; 11. Josh Toungett; 12. Brian Thomas; 13. Paul Normandin; 14. Stephanie Welch; 15. Brian Kromroy; 16. Joel Henson; 17. Chris Boone.
Time: 5 min., 01.504 sec.
HARLEY-DAVIDSON SPORTSTER PERFORMANCE SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 9 of 13 rounds): 1. Jared Mees (161/4 wins); 2. Scott Scherb (119); 3. James Hart (116); 4. Brian Thomas (100); 5. Rusty Rogers (94/1 win); 6. A.J. Eslick (92/1 win); 7. John Faulkner III (90); 8. Yuhiko Hirao (81); 9. Josh Toungett (68); 10. Robert Lewis (63); 11. (TIE) Merle Scherb (54)/Jess Roeder (54/1 win); 13. Brian Kromroy (50); 14. K.C. Knodel (47); 15. Bryan Smith (46/1 win); 16. Jake Johnson (45/1 win); 17. Shane Fox (40); 18. (TIE) Stephanie Welch (33)/Mark Witham (33); 20. (TIE) Joel Henson (25)/Timmy Mitchell (25).

By Scott Rousseau