Bercy: King David

| November 11, 2001

French rider David Vuillemin dominated the Bercy Supercross, taking victory in the three-night event. Not once was the defending King of Bercy beaten, and it was a performance that stamps him as possibly the greatest Bercy champion ever. With the win, the Frenchman took his third King of Bercy title. Second went to American legend Jeremy McGrath, with another American, Nick Wey in third overall.

Australian Chad Reed, 19, looked a sure bet to finish on the podium in Bercy until he crashed while leading one of the finals on Sunday, ending his night. For Reed, it was a mixed weekend. He finished second overall on the first night, leading home McGrath on two occassions. Reed then finished fourth on Saturday and clocked the quickest times of the weekend around the tight Bercy track. The final night, however, dropped him out of the results, as he crashed, breaking a bone in his jaw.

Despite tiredness and a collision with a lapped rider in the first main of the third and last night, Vuillemin once again dominated in Bercy. With a mid-pack start (in the first final) or a holeshot (in the second final), he won the races with the full support of the fans. The atmosphere was incredible in the first final; when Vuillemin lost the lead following a collision with a lapper, McGrath took the lead, but Vuillemin came back to the re-take the lead and the win!

Second on this third night and second overall, McGrath was the strongest rival for Vuillemin, as Reed missed this last day. He was leading the first final, but he crashed and broke a bone with his foot peg. Stephane Roncada and Nick Wey shared the third step of the podium, but the overall was in favor of Wey, as Roncada had retired in one main on Saturday.

In the 125cc class, Brock Sellards finally won the title of Prince of Bercy despite another win for Ivan Tedesco tonight; Tedesco finished second overall, beating Rodrig Thain.

Prince of Bercy: 1. Sellards (28); 2. Tedesco (31); 3. Thain (31); 4. Demartis (48); 5. Torronteras (56); 6. Ristori (73); 7. Townley (74); 8. Hansen (87); 9. Martin (88); 10. Meo (94).

King of Bercy: 1. Vuillemin (6); 2. McGrath (16); 3. Wey (26); 4. Roncada (32); 5. Guidetty (42); 6. Maschio (43); 7. Sorby (47); 8. Lalloz (54); 9. Kovalainen (54); 10. Lewis (60).

By Freelance