Kopp to the Top at Joplin HM

| June 3, 2001
Corbin Racing/H-D of Missouri’s Joe Kopp bagged his first win of the season at Joplin 66 Speedway in Joplin, Missouri, last night, the defending AMA/Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Series Champion leading teammate Kenny Coolbeth across the line for a Corbin sweep of the top two finishing positions. Former AMA Grand National Champion Chris Carr finished third aboard his H-D of Sacramento entry.

Carr got the holeshot in the main event, with Kopp and Coolbeth giving chase. Coolbeth was the first to get past Carr, dethroning the two-time champ from the lead early in the race. Kopp then worked past Carr and dogged his teammate, eventually making a pass for the win. Youngsters Johnny Murphree of the Memphis Shades/Coziar H-D team and Bryan Bigelow of the Gardner Racing team finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Here are the results from the Joplin main event:

1. Joe Kopp (H-D); 2. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 3. Chris Carr (H-D); 4. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 5. Bryan Bigelow (H-D); 6. Rich King (H-D); 7. Nicky Hayden (H-D); 8. Will Davis (H-D); 9. Terry Poovey (H-D); 10. Mike Hacker (H-D); 11. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 12. Kevin Varnes (H-D); 13. Steve Beattie (H-D); 14. Paul Morgan III (H-D); 15. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 16. Roger Lee Hayden (H-D); 17. Shaun Russell (H-D); 18. Jason Tyer(H-D).

By Scott Rousseau