King Rules Dairyland Classic ST

| June 9, 2001
The second round of the Drag Specialties National Dirt Track Series, at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wisconsin, proved that multiple brands in dirt track racing are possible. Not only were half a dozen different manufacturers represented in the 25-lap main, but the top three finishers were each on a different brand of motorcycle.

Rich King of Dysart, Iowa, riding a factory Harley-Davidson that is based on the Buell Blast passed early leader Terry Poovey of Euless, Texas, who was riding a Rotax, to take his fifth career win in Formula USA competition. Finishing third was Dan Stanley of Bellingham, Washington, who was riding a DR400 Suzuki.

Tonight’s race was the first Formula USA-sanctioned dirt track National not promoted by SFX Motor Sports. Bert Sumner and the Wisconsin Harley-Davidson Dealers Association promoted and sponsored the event. Over two thousand fans made the Friday night show part of their weekend of racing.

Here is the finishing order of the main event:

1. Rich King (H-D); 2. Terry Poovey (Rtx); 3. Dan Stanley (Suz); 4. Brett Landes (CCM); 5. Bryan Smith (ATK); 6. Steve Murray (ATK); 7. Scooter Vernon (ATK); 8. Willie McCoy (ATK); 9. Jennifer Snyder (H-D); 10. Steve Liberty (ATK); 11. Christian Vernon (Rtx); 12. Bret Beyer (Rtx); 13. Mark Gruber (VOR); 14. John Hlebo III (CCM); 15. Eric Mischler (Rtx); 16. Bob Ybema (Rtx); 17. Benjamin Carlson (Suz); 18. J.R. Schnabel (Yam).

By Jim Vincent