Hayden Wins Springfield

| May 28, 2001
Honda’s Nicky Hayden became the first two-time winner of the 2002 AMA U.S. Flat Track Championship with the AMA Superbike Championship points leader winning the short track at Springfield.

The race ended as a Honda sweep as Chris Carr’s VOR expired on the final lap when it appeared he had second place in the bag. That spot went to Bryan Bigelow with Jake Johnson finishing third for his first-career podium.

Jay Springsteen returned to the Harley-Davidson factory team and he finished 11th after running last for the first five laps.


GRAND NATIONAL (24 laps, 16 riders): 1. Nicky Hayden (Hon); 2. Bryan Bigelow (Hon); 3. Jake Johnson (Hon); 4. Joe Kopp (KTM); 5. Kevin Varnes (CCM); 6. Johnny Murphree (Rot); 7. Ken Coolbeth Jr. (KTM); 8. Raun Wood (Rot); 9. Shaun Russell (Rot); 10. Terry Poovey (Rot); 11. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 12. Kevin Atherton (Hon); 13. Chris Carr (VOR); 14. John Hlebo III (Hon); 15. Willie McCoy (ATK); 16. R.J. Overholt (Yam).

AMA / PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE U.S. FLAT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINT STANDINGS (after 8 of 20 rounds): 1. Chris Carr (109/1 win); 2. Kevin Varnes (100); 3. Johnny Murphree (98 / 1); 4. (TIE) Bryan Bigelow (93/1 win)/Ken Coolbeth Jr. (93); 6. Joe Kopp (76); 7. Kevin Atherton (62); 8. Nicky Hayden (61/2 wins); 9. Shaun Russell (58); 10. Terry Poovey (57).

By Scott Rousseau