Carr Takes Springfield

Paul Carruthers | May 28, 2001
After biding his time, Harley-Davidson of Sacramento’s Chris Carr bagged his third career points-paying Springfield Mile win on the Illinois State Fairgrounds on May 27.

Carr, who scored his first career Springfield Mile victory on Memorial Day Weekend in 1995 and then backed that up with victories at the Labor Day Weekend Grand National in 1998 and the non-points-paying $100,000 Hall of Fame Race a year later, joined the lead pack, which contained Jay Springsteen and Rich King, late in the 25-lap Grand National and then played it cagey to get into position for the winning move. King finished second, with Springer third, while defending AMA Grand National Champion Joe Kopp was fourth. Kopp’s Corbin/H-D of Missouri teammate, Kenny Coolbeth, rounded out the top five. Here is the finishing order of the Grand National main event.

GRAND NATIONAL (25 laps; 18 riders): 1. Chris Carr (H-D); 2. Rich King (H-D); 3. Jay Springsteen (H-D0; 4. Joe Kopp (H-D); 5. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 6. Mike Hacker (H-D); 7. Shaun Russell (H-D); 8. Willie McCoy (H-D); 9. Kevin Varnes (H-D); 10. Terry Poovey (Hon); 11. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 12. Bryan Bigelow (H-D); 13. Jess Roeder (H-D); 14. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 15. Kevin Atherton (H-D); 16. Nicky Hayden (H-D); 17. Steve Beattie (H-D); 18. Will Davis (H-D).
Time: 14 min., 42.247 sec.

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.