Vans Triple Crown Update

| April 4, 2001

Round two of the Vans Triple Crown of Supercross, in its third season, will take place April 21 in Dallas, Texas, with an ABC airdate the following day. In its three-year history, the Vans Triple Crown has yet to pay out the $500,000 purse to a single winner. This season could mark the first time in its history that a rider picks up the enormous purse, if Jeremy McGrath can put a stop to Ricky Carmichael’s win streak.

McGrath, who is a Vans team rider, won the first round of the three-round series in Anaheim (Round 3 of EA Sports Supercross). The Triple Crown is built within the 16-Round EA Sports Supercross tour. The first annual Vans Triple Crown of Supercross saw Team Honda’s Ezra Lusk winning the $25,000 after coming up short of winning all three rounds (the rider with the most points in the Vans Triple Crown of Supercross events wins $25,000 if no one wins all three rounds). Then again in 2000, Team Yamaha’s David Vuillemin could have cashed in on the $500,000, but came up short on winning all three rounds. The final round of the Vans Triple Crown of Supercross will take place May 5 at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium.

“Vans is ecstatic about being a part of EA Sports Supercross and a sponsor of Jeremy McGrath,” said Jay Wilson, Vice President of Global Sports Marketing. “The Vans Triple Crown events are helping take extreme sports to a new level, and I feel that some day it will be as popular as the stick-and-ball sports.”

EA Sports Supercross will culminate in Las Vegas on May 5, with round 16, which will be featured live on Pay-Per-View. For more information, contact your local cable provider.

By Freelance