Carmichael Wins Again

Kit Palmer | March 24, 2001

Chevy Trucks Kawasaki’s Ricky Carmichael recorded his eighth consecutive win after coming from behind at the Houston Supercross. Carmichael gated fifth in main and had control of the lead by the sixth lap after passing some of the sports’ heaviest hitters, such as Tim Ferry, Jeremy McGrath, Ezra Lusk and Kevin Windham. Carmichael took control of the race once he had the lead and took the checkered flag 2.820 seconds of McGrath.

McGrath rode well but had difficulty passing Lusk and Windham and had a few run-ins with lapped riders.

Finishing third was Amsoil/Dr. Martins/Competition Accessories/Honda’s Mike LaRocco who was extremely strong at the end of the race. He worked his way up from a seventh-place start and was pressuring McGrath at the end.

Fourth place went to Ezra Lusk. The Honda rider was running third late in the race when he washed out in a turn and was passed by LaRocco.

Team Suzuki’s Kevin Windham ended up fifth after leading the first five laps.

In the 125cc main, Travis Preston gave Husqvarna its first ever 125cc Supercross win, and he won it in dramatic fashion.

KTM’s Grant Langston was headed for a sure win when, on the last lap while celebrating with a fist pumped in the air, the South African lost momentum and clipped a double jump that launched him over the handlebars. As Langston struggled to get up, Preston,’s Greg Schnell and Suzuki’s Rodrig Thain rode past him. Langston ended up fourth. Plano Honda’s Ivan Tedesco rounded out the top five.


250: 1. Ricky Carmichael (Kaw); 2. Jeremy McGrath (Yam); 3. Mike LaRocco (Hon); 4. Ezra Lusk (Hon); 5. Kevin Windham (Suz); 6. Tim Ferry (Yam); 7. Sebastien Tortelli (Hon); 8. Damon Huffman (Yam); 9. Heath Voss (Hon); 10. Michael Byrne (Kaw); 11. Kyle Lewis (Yam); 12. Casey Johnson (Kaw); 13. Jean-Sebastien Roy (Hon); 14. Robbie Reynard (Yam); 15. James Povolny Jr. (Hon); 16. Jason Thomas (Hus); 17. Thomas Hofmaster (Yam); 18. Dustin Nelson (Yam); 19. Brian Mason (Kaw); 20. Travis Elliott (Hon).

125: 1 Travis Preston (Hus); 2. Greg Schnell (Yam); 3. Rodrig Thain (Suz); 4. Grant Langston (KTM); 5. Ivan Tedesco (Hon); 6. Ernesto Fonseca (Yam); 7. Keith Johnson (Yam); 8. Jason McCormick (Suz); 9. Justin Buckelew (Yam); 10. Steve Boniface (Hon); 11. Erick Vallejo (Kaw); 12. David Pingree (KTM); 13. Johnny Marley (Hon); 14. Daniel Blair (Hon); 15. Jeremy Chaussee (Hon); 16. Danny Carlson (Suz); 17. Matt Shue (Suz); 18. Steven Eugenio (Yam); 19. Sean Hamblin (Hon); 21. Robbie Skaggs (Suz); 22. Tiger Lacey (Suz).

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.