Carr Takes Topeka Short Track

| June 12, 2000
Defending Grand National Champion Chris Carr overcame the challenge of a unique temporary short track and a red flag restart situation, brought on by Rich King’s spill on lap 20 to win the Topeka Short Track, round three of the AMA/Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Championships, on June 3.


“I had to win two races tonight, maybe I can get double points,” said Carr after his wire-to-wire win.


Famous for its drag racing activities Heartland Park built a dirt track over the drag strip, creating a unique layout that featured long straightaways and very tight turns. Surprisingly, by the end of the night all the riders seemed pleased with the facility and claimed to enjoy riding the odd-shaped track.


The Harley-Davidson of Sacramento/ Racing-backed Carr was the fastest rider all night, and after a perfect holeshot on his ATK, he led Corbin Racing/ Dave Burks Motorsports/Harley-Davidson of Missouri’s Joe Kopp all the way. Harley-Davidson Motor Co./Shoei-backed Rich King worked his Harley into third before he bailed between turns one and two. The red flag came out on lap 20.


The restart saw Carr out front with Kopp and Moroney’s Harley-Davidson/’s Will Davis in third. J.R. Schnabel was a solid fourth and closing on Davis. With just two laps left, Scnabel’s chain broke, and his excellent ride was over.


Kopp’s Corbin Racing teammate Kenny Coolbeth moved up to fourth, over USC Racing/Lancaster Harley-Davidson’s Bryan Bigelow, who benefited most from the restart by moving from 10th to fifth. King made the restart and came from dead last to finish just behind Mike Hacker in seventh.


The win places Carr first in the point standings with 56. Terry Poovey (45), Kopp (42), Davis (41) and Jay Springsteen (38) follow. Springer had led the points coming into Topeka, but he stayed home this week.


Brian Thomas rode his Jim Wagner / Widman Harley-Davidson Sportster to the Harley-Davidson Sportster Performance Series win. Gary Rogers and Scott Stump filled out the podium. The win gives Thomas the points lead after two races over Stump and James Hart.


Heartland Park
Topeka, Kansas
Results: June 10, 2000 (Round 3 of 18)
GRAND NATIONAL: 1. Chris Carr (ATK); 2. Joe Kopp (Rot); 3. Will Davis (ATK); 4. Ken Coolbeth (W-R); 5. Bryan bigelow (ATK); 6. Mike Hacker (Rot); 7. Mike Hacker (Rot); 8. Dan Stanley (Rot); 9. Terry Poovey (Rot); 10. Kevin Varnes (ATK); 11. Dale Jenneman (ATK); 12. Geo Roeder II (Rot); 13. Mike Varnes (Rot); 14. J.R. Schnabel (Rot): 15. Brett Landes (ATK); 16. Trenton Bailey (ATK).


HARLEY-DAVIDSON SPORTSTER PERFORMANCE NATIONAL: 1. Brian Thomas; 2. Gary Rogers; 3. Scott Stump; 4. A.J. Eslick; 5. Brian Kromroy; 6. John Faulkner III; 7. James Hart; 8. Tom McGrane Jr.; 9. Al Eadie; 10.Jason Tyer; 11. Chris Fitzhugh; 12. Michelle Disalvo; 13. Dick Wall; 14. John Grant; 15. Jeff Hiers; 16. Gerry Booher; 17. Gerald Ray.

By Dave Hoenig