Davis Sets the PACE in Fort Worth

| May 7, 2000
Will Davis ushered in what may become a new era in professional dirt track racing by claiming two feature wins when the Formula USA-sanctioned Wrenchead.com Dirt Track Series kicked off its inaugural season on the half mile dirt track at the palatial Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas, on May 6. The event drew approximately 5000 spectators.

The Fasthog.com/Racing For Kids team was practically unstoppable as he scored a wire-to-wire win in the 15-lap Pro Singles class main event; the class pits restricted 600cc singles against unrestricted 400cc singles in either dirt-track or OE chassis. Aboard a restricted 600, Davis held off Saddlemen Racing’s Mike Hacker, also aboard a restricted 600. Rookie National contender Kenny Noyes finished third aboard a factory-backed Lineweaver Racing Husaberg 400.

In the marquis National class, which combines 750cc and 1000cc V-twins with 600cc singles, Davis survived a late-race restart, earning the victory aboard his familiar Harley-Davidson XR750 after battling his way past 600cc Rotax-mounted Hacker and early leader Kenny Coolbeth, the latter on a Corbin Racing XR750, in the early stages of the main event. The results for both classes are as follows:

NATIONAL (25 laps; 18 riders): 1. Will Davis (H-D); 2. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 3. Mike Hacker (Rtx); 4. Chris Carr (H-D); 5. Steve Beattie (H-D); 6. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 7. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 8. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 9. Gary Rogers (H-D); 10. Mike Varnes (H-D); 11. Willie McCoy (Rtx); 12. Todd Winsett (Rtx); 13. Greg Tysor (Rtx); 14. Beau Brown (Rtx); 15. Brent Armbruster (H-D); 16. Joe Kopp (W-R); 17. Dan Stanley (Rtx); 18. Dale Jenneman (Rtx).

PRO SGL (15 laps; 18 riders): 1. Will Davis (ATK); 2. Mike Hacker (Rtx); 3. Kenny Noyes (Hbg); 4. Joe Kopp (KTM); 5. Tim Eades (Rtx); 6. Dan Stanley (ATK); 7. Eli Price (Rtx); 8. J.R. Schnabel (W-R); 9. Victor MacAnally (Rtx); 10. A.J. Eslick (KTM); 11. Kurt Hawk (Rtx); 12. Jason Tyer (H-D); 13. Jacob Latimer (W-R); 14. Jennifer Snyder (Rtx); 15. Glenn McNamara (Rtx); 16. Gerald Ray (Yam); 17. Willie McCoy (Rtx); 18. Darrell Reeves (Rtx).

By Scott Rousseau