It may have played a day late and to mostly empty grandstands, but round seven of the AMA/Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Championships went into the books at Hagerstown Speedway in Hagerstown, Maryland, on June 17, with H-D of Sacramento/Phoenix Racing’s Chris Carr becoming the first rider to score two AMA victories in the still-young season.

Carr, the two-time AMA Grand National Champion, battled none other than the man who holds the crown now, Corbin Racing/Burks Motorsports’ Joe Kopp, during the early stages of the25-lap main event. The two traded the lead back and forth several times – often twice in the same lap – for the first six circuits of the slick red clay Hagerstown track. Carr then slowly began to eke out an advantage that would end up being nearly 10 bike lengths at the finish. The official margin of victory was listed at 1.087 seconds. Kopp came home an easy second. Gardner Racing/Lancaster Harley-Davidson’s Bryan Bigelow emerged from within a pack that had been bunched up early after Kenny Coolbeth bobbled while in third place, to take the third spot, passing Jay Springsteen midrace.’s Harley-Davidson’s Will Davis wound up fourth, with Springer fifth. Here are the main event results and series points standings after the Hagerstown Half Mile:

Hagerstown Speedway
Hagerstown, Maryland
Results: June 17, 2001 (Round 7 of 20)
GRAND NATIONAL (25 laps; 18 riders): 1. Chris Carr (H-D); 2. Joe Kopp (H-D); 3. Bryan Bigelow (H-D); 4. Will Davis (H-D); 5. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 6. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 7. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 8. Mike Hacker (H-D); 9. Rich King (H-D); 10. Steve Beattie (H-D); 11. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 12. Shaun Russell (H-D); 13. Willie McCoy (H-D); 14. Jess Roeder (H-D); 15. Terry Poovey (H-D); 16. Tim Eades (H-D); 17. Gary Rogers (H-D); 18. Bryan Smith (H-D).
Time: 10 min., 26.161 sec.
AMA/PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE U.S. FLAT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 7 of 20 rounds): 1. Joe Kopp (110/1 win); 2. Chris Carr (105/2 wins); 3. Will Davis (75/1 win); 4. Rich King (70); 5. Mike Hacker (60); 6. (TIE) Kenny Coolbeth (58)/J.R. Schnabel (58/1 win); 8. Kevin Varnes (49); 9. Bryan Bigelow (47); 10. Johnny Murphree (44); 11. Jay Springsteen (39); 12. Nicky Hayden (34); 13. Terry Poovey (31); 14. (TIE) Willie McCoy (27)/Geo Roeder II (27); 16. Brett Landes (25); 17. (TIE) Shawn Clark (23)/Tommy Hayden (23/1 win); 19. Shaun Russell (21); 20. Greg Tysor (19).

SUPERTRAPP SUPERTRACKER FINAL (12 lap; 17 riders): 1. Bryan Bigelow (Bue); 2. Samuel Lowe (Suz); 3. J.R. Schnabel (Suz); 4. Brian Thomas (Bue); 5. Scott Scherb (H-D); 6. Greg Teague (Bue); 7. Bryan Smith (Suz); 8. George Richtmeyer (Suz); 9. Joe Kopp (Suz); 10. Roy Miller (Suz); 11. Jason Tyer (Suz); 12. Joe Duvall (Suz); 13. Steve Liberty (H-D); 14. Kenny Coolbeth (Suz); 15. Gary Rogers (Suz); 16. Yuhiko Hirao (Suz); 17. Mike Hacker (Bue).
Time: 5 min.,11.560 sec.
AMA/SUPERTRAPP SUPERTRACKER SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 2 of 7 rounds): 1. J.R. Schnabel (35); 2. (TIE) Kenny Coolbeth (28/1 win)/Scott Scherb (28); 4. Brian Thomas (27); 5. Jason Tyer (24); 6. (TIE) Bryan Bigelow (23/1 win)/Greg Teague (23); 8. Roy Miller (22); 9. Samuel Lowe (19); 10. Joe Duvall (18).

Flat Track News

By Scott Rousseau