Harley-Davidson's Rich King won the Will Davis Memorial half mile at the Missouri State Fairgrounds on Saturday night, leading every lap of the main event for his second win in three weeks.

The only rider who could keep King in sight was Moroney's Harley-Davidson's Jake Johnson, but his tire went away and he was forced to back off the pace. At the end of the race, it was series points leader Chris Carr finishing second with Kenny Coolbeth third.

Johnson was fourth with Johnny Murphree rounding out the top five finishers. Newly crowned Superbike National Champion Nicky Hayden ended up ninth.


1. Rich King (H-D); 2. Chris Carr (H-D); 3. Ken Coolbeth Jr. (H-D); 4. Jake Johnson (H-D); 5. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 6. Bryan Bigelow (H-D); 7. Steve Beattie (H-D); 8. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 9. Nicky Hayden (Hon); 10. Shawn Clark (H-D); 11. Joe Kopp (H-D); 12. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 13. Bryan Smith (H-D); 14. Kevin Atherton (H-D); 15. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 16. Paul Lynch (H-D); 17. Terry Poovey (H-D); 18. Kevin Varnes (H-D).

AMA/PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE U.S. FLAT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINT STANDINGS (after 14 of 20 rounds): 1. Chris Carr (206/2 wins); 2. Johnny Murphree (181/1); 3. Bryan Bigelow (177/1); 4. Kevin Varnes (155/1); 5. Ken Coolbeth Jr. (145); 6. Joe Kopp (118); 7. Jay Springsteen (117); 8. J.R. Schnabel (106); 9. Rich King (96/2); 10. Nicky Hayden (94/3); 11. Geo Roeder II (90); 12. Kevin Atherton (88); 13. Jake Johnson (86); 14. Terry Poovey (84); 15. Shaun Russell (82); 16. Chris Hart (69 / 1); 17. Shawn Clark (64); 18. Paul Lynch (61); 19. Steve Beattie (57); 20. Willie McCoy (56).

Flat Track News

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.